New Internationalist

Search results for Kidnapping

We found 249 results. Showing results 171 to 180.

Somaly Mam

*Somaly Mam* has experienced the horrors of sexual slavery. She is now fighting to ensure other young women don’t.…

  • Fri Jul 8 09:52:00 2016
  • Rank: 100

The vultures have landed

Afghanistan, Iraq, and now Haiti…

  • Tue Feb 23 08:05:00 2010
  • Rank: 100

New directions

In a difficult period for Nigeria, people power may come into its own.…

  • Mon Feb 8 10:08:35 2010
  • Rank: 100

The fight for survival

Haiti’s women and children are suffering disproportionately in the aftermath of the Haiti earthquake.…

  • Wed Jan 27 11:22:04 2010
  • Rank: 100

Niger

The top tourist destination in Niger until the late 1980s, the city of Agadez – located in the dead centre of the country – is today no more than a shadow of its former self.…

  • Wed Sep 2 00:44:00 2009
  • Rank: 100

The Arctic: a history

A mythical place – land of the frozen ocean, the aurora borealis and the midnight sun.…

  • Thu Jul 2 02:40:00 2009
  • Rank: 100

Brutality in Bagua

Stephanie Boyd reports from Cuzco, Peru, on the furore following the massacre of indigenous protesters.…

  • Wed Jun 17 05:18:25 2009
  • Rank: 100

Where are the women?

Why is the media in Sierra Leone so testosterone-fuelled?…

  • Wed Jun 3 09:26:29 2009
  • Rank: 100

War in the Niger Delta

Just a week before the start of the Ken Saro-Wiwa vs…

  • Wed May 20 03:51:31 2009
  • Rank: 100

Invisible children – the ‘rescue’

In cities around the world people protested lastweekend against the plight of child soldiers in Uganda.…

  • Tue Apr 28 06:02:09 2009
  • Rank: 100

Browse

Still can't find it?

Our entire digital archive is available on your browser and mobile device.

Popular tags

All tags