New Internationalist books and publications

Now in its tenth year, The Caine Prize presents another unmissable opportunity to tune into what is happening in African fiction. It is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. This edition collects the five 2009 shortlisted stories, along with 12 stories written at the Caine Prize Writers’ Workshop, which took place in Ghana in Spring 2009.

Shortlisted authors for the 2009 prize are:

  • Mamle Kabu (Ghana), The End of Skill
  • Parselelo Kantai (Kenya), You Wreck Her
  • Alistair Morgan (South Africa), Icebergs
  • EC Osondu (Nigeria), Waiting
  • Mukoma wa Ngugi (Kenya), How Kamau wa Mwangi Escaped into Exile

The four African winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature, Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, Naguib Mahfouz and John Coetzee are patrons of The Caine Prize.

Previous winners and entrants include Segun Afolabi, Leila Aboulela, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Brian Chikwava, Mary Watson, Binyavanga Wainaina and Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor.

Format: Paperback
Dimensions: 206 x 148mm
Page extent: 214 pages
ISBN-13: 9781906523145
Publication date: July 2009

Date added: June 1, 2009

Comments on Work In Progress and other stories

Leave your comment


  • Maximum characters allowed: 5000
  • Simple HTML allowed: bold, italic, and links

Registration is quick and easy. Plus you won’t have to re-type the blurry words to comment!
Register | Login

...And all is quiet.

Subscribe to Comments for this articleArticle Comment Feed RSS 2.0

Guidelines: Please be respectful of others when posting your reply.