New Internationalist books and publications

The Caine Prize for African Writing is Africa’s leading literary prize, and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. Each year the winning story and shortlisted entries are collected and published in one volume.

The 8th winner is Monica Arac de Nyeko from Uganda for Jambula Tree. Chair of Judges, Jamal Mahjoub from Sudan, described her story as “a witty and touching portrait of a community which is affected forever by a love which blossoms between two adolescents”.

This love affair is an “earthquake which shakes the moral foundations”, as described by Boyd Tonkin, “because the shocking couple are two girls, who love without shame. I hardly need explain that this theme means that Arac de Nyeko has herself crossed a line that, these days, runs deeper in Kampala than in Kensington.”

  • Extra and exclusive! Includes the 2008 shortlist – the winner of which will be announced in Oxford in mid-July. All the stories are available to read here - use the links under the cover image.
  • The book of Africa’s leading literary award. The Caine Prize is rapidly gaining attention worldwide
  • Showcases young writers who go on to publish successful novels
  • Includes over 20 short stories from across the continent and beyond

Shortlisted authors for the 8th Prize were:

  • Uwem Akpan (Nigeria), My Parents Bedroom.
  • Monica Arac de Nyeko (Uganda), Jambula Tree.
  • E.C Osondu (Nigeria), Jimmy Carter’s Eyes.
  • Henrietta Rose-Innes (South Africa), Bad Places.
  • Ada Udechukwu (Nigeria), Night Bus.
  • Mohammeh Naseehu Ali (Ghana), Mallam Sile
  • Stanley Onjezani Kenani (Malawi), For Honour
  • Henrietta Rose-Innes (South Africa), Poison
  • Gill Schierhout (South Africa), The Day of the Surgical Colloquium
  • Uzor Maxim Uzoatu (Nigeria), Cemetery of Life

About the Caine Prize: The Caine Prize for African Writing is named in memory of the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc. He was Chairman of Africa 95, and Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee for almost 25 years.

The four African winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature, Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, Naguib Mahfouz and John Coetzee are patrons of The Caine Prize.

Previous winners and entrants include Segun Afolabi, Leila Aboulela, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Brian Chikwava, Mary Watson, Binyavanga Wainaina and Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor.

Format: Paperback
Dimensions: 208 x 146mm
Page extent: 228 pages
Publication date: June 2008 (UK)
ISBN-13: 978-1904456-73-5

Date added: January 18, 2008

Comments on Jambula Tree and other short stories

Leave your comment


  • Maximum characters allowed: 5000
  • Simple HTML allowed: bold, italic, and links

Registration is quick and easy. Plus you won’t have to re-type the blurry words to comment!
Register | Login

...And all is quiet.

Subscribe to Comments for this articleArticle Comment Feed RSS 2.0

Guidelines: Please be respectful of others when posting your reply.