New Internationalist books and publications


An admirable and essential gateway to current African fiction. - Booklist.

'A wonderful set of 16 stories that covers a lot of ground and features many genres—from myth and folklore to the postmodern and experimental—in a way that will surely satisfy readers.' - Kirkus Reviews.

To me this isn’t just the best fiction Africa has to offer, it’s some of the best fiction the world has to offer...These writers are a reminder that there’s a huge production of literature going on in Africa that can and should be part of the global conversation. - Cóilín Parsons, Irish literary scholar.

Entertaining. Deserves to be widely read. - Sunday Independent, South Africa.

Read more reviews

Africa’s most important literary award. - International Hearld Tribune.

It provokes and challenges. - Harare News, Zimbabwe.

Dazzling and splendidly diverse. - The Times, UK.

Now entering its eighteenth year, the Caine Prize for African Writing is Africa’s leading literary prize, and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. This collection will bring together the five 2017 shortlisted stories, along with stories written at the Caine Prize Writers’ Workshop, which took place in Tanzania in April 2017.

Judges are drawn from different literary fields including eminent journalists, broadcasters and academics with expertise and a connection to literature in Africa. Five stories are selected for the shortlist by the judges, with one being selected as the winner on 3 July 2017/

The 2017 judging panel is Nii Ayikwei Parkes, award winning author, poet and editor; 2007 Caine Prize winner, Monica Arac de Nyeko; author and Chair of the English Department at Georgetown University, Professor Ricardo Ortiz; Libyan author and human rights campaigner, Ghazi Gheblawi; and distinguished African literary scholar, Dr Ranka Primorac.

The Winner of the Caine Prize 2017:

Bushra al-Fadil (Sudan) for ‘The Story of the Girl whose Birds Flew Away’

Shortlisted candidates:

Lesley Nneka Arimah (Nigeria) for ‘Who Will Greet You At Home’
Chikodili Emelumadu (Nigeria) for ‘Bush Baby’
Arinze Ifeakandu (Nigeria) for ‘God’s Children Are Little Broken Things’
Magogodi oaMphela Makhene (South Africa) for ‘The Virus’

Workshop authors are:

Last year’s winner. Lidudumalingani (South Africa), Abdul Adan (Somalia/Kenya), Lesley Nneka Arimah (Nigeria) Tendai Huchu (Zimbabwe), Cheryl Ntumy (Botswana/Ghana), Daniel Rafiki (Rwanda), Darla Rudakubana (Rwanda), Agazit Abate (Ethiopia), Esther Karin Mngodo (Tanzania), Lydia Kasese (Tanzania), and Zaka Riwa (Tanzania).

ISBN-13: 978-1-78026-401-1
Dimensions: 190 mm x 130 mm
Format: Paperback
Page extent: 240
Publication date: July 2017

Date added: May 13, 2016

Comments on The Caine Prize for African Writing 2017

Leave your comment


  • Maximum characters allowed: 5000
  • Simple HTML allowed: bold, italic, and links

Registration is quick and easy. Plus you won’t have to re-type the blurry words to comment!
Register | Login

...And all is quiet.

Subscribe to Comments for this articleArticle Comment Feed RSS 2.0

Guidelines: Please be respectful of others when posting your reply.