New Internationalist books and publications

From the traditional village to the riotous cacophony of the capital city, from the chill of exile to the cell of a prisoner of conscience, these stories reflect the vast range of modern African experience.

Celebrating the 10th anniversary of the leading literary prize for African fiction, often referred to as the ‘African Booker Prize’, this book showcases all ten of the winning stories, which have emerged from Kenya, Nigeria, Soth Africa, Sudan, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

As a special bonus it also includes stories by the three African winners of the Booker prize - Nadine Gordimer, Ben Okri and JM Coetzee, whose contribution, Nietveloren is published here for the first time.

Includes authors for whom the Caine Prize has been the springboard to successful publishing deals – including Leila Aboulela, Helon Habila and Segun Afolabi.

Format: Hardback
Dimensions: 216 x 152mm
Page extent: 208 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1-906523-24-4
Publication date: October 2009

Date added: August 20, 2009

Comments on Ten Years of the Caine Prize for African Writing

Leave your comment