New Internationalist

Search results for west papua

We found 177 results. Showing results 11 to 20.

‘They turned our mountains into cooking pots’

Communities bear witness to damages inflicted by mining giants and target annual meetings in London.…

  • Wed Apr 17 09:50:00 2013
  • Rank: 100

Mischa Wilmers

Mischa Wilmers is a freelance journalist.…

  • Thu Dec 6 03:00:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

Mining corruption: mugging on an international scale

A group of international activists aim to shine a spotlight on dodgy mining deals with a string of actions starting this month.Jamie Kelsey-Fry reports.…

  • Wed Jun 13 12:09:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

Banking on hunger: shame on you, Barclays!

Vote now to register your anger at the bank’s aggressive expansion into food speculation.…

  • Sun Jan 22 07:28:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

Sumatra: this land is my land

Daniel Pye reports from Indonesia on a dogged resistance by rural communities to plantation companies’ violent land-grabbing.…

  • Fri Jan 6 06:04:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

West Papuans mark bitter-sweet ‘independence’ day

It's 50 years since West Papua first won independence, only for Indonesia to cruelly snatch it away…

  • Thu Dec 1 09:17:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

West Papuan refugee threatened by Interpol arrest

Independence leader Benny Wenda has been named on an Interpol wanted list in a move viewed by many as politically motivated.…

  • Fri Nov 25 10:54:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

West Papua: the road to freedom

Tuesday 2 August marked the 48th anniversary of the West Papuan struggle for independence from Indonesia…

  • Thu Aug 4 08:37:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

First Nations festival kicks off in London

Inuit, Maori and Gaelic performers are among the leading indigenous artists bringing a powerful message to London for the inaugural Origins…

  • Wed Jun 22 11:52:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

New Internationalist

New Internationalist…

  • Fri May 20 03:00:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Browse

Still can't find it?

Our entire digital archive is available on your browser and mobile device.

Popular tags

All tags