New Internationalist

Search results for World-cup

We found 85 results. Showing results 41 to 50.

Zimbabwe’s refugees suffer as World Cup kicks off

Migrants escaping dire poverty find cold comfort in neighbouring South Africa, writes Olivia Ward.…

  • Wed Jun 16 06:35:00 2010
  • Rank: 100

A different goal

As the World Cup kicks off, Gouri Sharmalooks at why South Africa certainly isn’t a land of dreams for youngsters crossing the border from Zimbabwe, and considers what can be done to help them.…

  • Fri Jun 11 03:51:00 2010
  • Rank: 100

‘Don’t Agonize, Organize!’

Africa Liberation Day 2010, celebrated on 25 May, is a time for action as well as reflection.…

  • Thu May 27 11:20:11 2010
  • Rank: 100

Don’t Drop the Ball on Aid

Guest post from Oxfam's Ian Sullivan I love football…

  • Wed May 26 12:15:00 2010
  • Rank: 100

Souring the beautiful game

Sokari Ekine feels increasingly reluctant to engage with the World Cup, given the cost to the lives of ordinary people.…

  • Thu Mar 25 05:51:00 2010
  • Rank: 100

Fat cats and foul play

Azad Essa is unimpressed with FIFA’s friendly feline, mascot of the soccer World Cup this June.…

  • Tue Mar 16 12:06:39 2010
  • Rank: 100

Ban the World Cup!

Alan Hughes, self-confessed football fanatic, calls for the 2010 World Cup to be banned… here’s why.…

  • Wed Dec 16 06:12:32 2009
  • Rank: 100

Hillywood dreams

In the hills of Rwanda, Tom Cropper finds the world’s most unique film festival…

  • Fri Nov 6 06:15:00 2009
  • Rank: 100

Sweeping the streets

Poor South Africans fall foul of soccer tournament preparations…

  • Mon Nov 2 01:35:00 2009
  • Rank: 100

Motlhalefi Mahlabe

*Motlhalefi Mahlabe* photographs slums in a South African township.…

  • Thu Oct 1 20:51:00 2009
  • Rank: 100

Browse

Still can't find it?

Our entire digital archive is available on your browser and mobile device.

Popular tags

All tags