New Internationalist

Search results for Tribes

We found 248 results. Showing results 21 to 30.

Garden party with the forest people

Mari Marcel Thekaekara learns a lot about her own back yard when her adivasi friends come to visit.…

  • Fri Jun 1 10:00:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

Stop using white history as a smokescreen

African leaders should stop trying to divert attention from their own shortcomings by pointing to white people's wrongdoings, says Mgcini Nyoni.…

  • Fri Jan 27 08:53:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

Israel evicts Bedouin villagers

More than 30,000 Bedouin, which the Israeli government call 'squatters', face eviction to make way for settlements, reports Libby Powell.…

  • Sun Jan 1 10:29:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

World Development book case study: Gaza and the impact of the Arab-Israeli conflict

A case study for our World Development text book…

  • Mon Nov 28 09:28:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Why Evo Morales did a U-turn on the TIPNIS Amazon highway

Georgiana Keate reports on a victory for indigenous people in Bolivia, who are forcing their president to honour his word.…

  • Fri Oct 28 10:30:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

West Papua: the road to freedom

Tuesday 2 August marked the 48th anniversary of the West Papuan struggle for independence from Indonesia…

  • Thu Aug 4 08:37:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Gorkhaland – the second coming

In the sleepy Himalayan towns of West Bengal, India, an old agitation for Gorkha statehood is revived and ‘resolved’…

  • Fri Jul 8 08:46:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Peru wipes 'uncontacted' tribes off the map

The isolated Indian tribes of the Napo-Tigre region no longer exist, according to the government's cartographers…

  • Wed Jun 22 10:59:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Mari Marcel Thekaekara

Mari Marcel Thekaekara…

  • Mon Jun 20 03:00:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Safe from ConocoPhillips... but what about the missionaries?

Public outcry about the risk to two uncontacted indigenous groups has caused the oil giant to pull out of a remote area of the Peruvian Amazon…

  • Thu May 26 04:21:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Browse

Still can't find it?

Our entire digital archive is available on your browser and mobile device.