New Internationalist

Search results for Sexual-violence

We found 62 results. Showing results 21 to 30.

Another shocking rape attack in India

Mari Marcel Thekaekara calls for better policing after the recent attack on a young woman in Delhi.…

  • Thu Dec 20 09:59:00 2012
  • Rank: 100

Nigeria's ‘anti-gay bill’ is another backward step

Nigeria's new legislation is just another way of legitimizing all kinds of sexual prejudice and violence, says Sokari Ekine.…

  • Mon Dec 5 10:20:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Iraq

Hadani Ditmars finds a battered and divided country where young people strive for a progressive future.…

  • Tue Nov 1 06:04:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Shrugging off gang rape

Sokari Ekine on how the videoed rape of a young woman that went viral on YouTube was dismissed by the Nigerian police as ‘boys behaving badly’.…

  • Wed Oct 26 05:37:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Femicide: Guatemala’s growing epidemic

Guatemalan women experience one of the highest levels of violence in the world – and the crimes often go unpunished, reports Anna Bevan.…

  • Mon Aug 22 07:20:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

A second French Revolution?

Big boys who work hard must play hard, too? Ask the women!…

  • Thu May 26 08:56:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

'They remove boulders and cross rivers'

History most of us never get to hear about..…

  • Thu Feb 17 06:10:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Guilty secrets

In strictly segregated Yemeni society, child sexual abuse is kept well-hidden…

  • Fri Oct 15 07:03:00 2010
  • Rank: 100

Burma: the land of broken dreams

One brave woman is speaking out about her people’s suffering and why the world must sit up and take notice.…

  • Tue Sep 21 11:12:00 2010
  • Rank: 100
Thumbnail for story:

Mari Marcel Thekaekara

Mari is a writer based inGudalur, in the Nilgiri hills of Tamil Nadu…

  • Thu Jul 1 03:00:00 2010
  • Rank: 100

Browse

Still can't find it?

Our entire digital archive is available on your browser and mobile device.

Popular tags

All tags