New Internationalist

Search results for Concessions

We found 219 results. Showing results 21 to 30.

Fraud, rebellion and the decline of Putinism

Allegations of ballot stuffing in this year’s Duma elections have sparked the biggest protests in Russia in almost two decades…

  • Sat Dec 17 11:43:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Business as usual: Peru’s new president leaps to the right

By pushing forward a hotly contested mining project and enacting a state of emergency, Ollanta Humala's presidency is off to a worrying start.…

  • Wed Dec 7 06:34:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Victory for Asháninka against Amazonian dam-builders

Respect for indigenous rights leads to company pull-out on controversial dam project in Peru, reports Vanessa Baird.…

  • Fri Nov 25 08:57:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Peruvians rise up against the mines

The scale of indigenous-led protests against mining in southern Peru took most by surprise…

  • Sat Oct 1 10:40:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Palestine: The role of recognition

Libby Powell on the considerable ramifications of Palestine’s bid for statehood.…

  • Thu Sep 29 05:06:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Armenia

Facts, figures and ratings in our latest country profile.…

  • Thu Sep 1 05:24:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

West Papua: the road to freedom

Tuesday 2 August marked the 48th anniversary of the West Papuan struggle for independence from Indonesia…

  • Thu Aug 4 08:37:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Gorkhaland – the second coming

In the sleepy Himalayan towns of West Bengal, India, an old agitation for Gorkha statehood is revived and ‘resolved’…

  • Fri Jul 8 08:46:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Where now for biofuels?

Can fuel crops ever be sustainable? Danny Chivers gives us the lowdown.…

  • Fri Jul 1 10:21:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Lukashenka’s endgame

As his country goes into economic freefall, Belarus’s president plans to trade prisoners – including journalist Andrzej Poczobut – for cash.…

  • Fri Jun 10 07:47:00 2011
  • Rank: 100

Browse

Still can't find it?

Our entire digital archive is available on your browser and mobile device.

Popular tags

All tags