New Internationalist

Books

Page 6 of 10

The Story of Stuff

Thanks to the combination of specialization and production chains that span the globe, we consumers rarely get to see the whole picture. This book joins the dots, showing the impacts of resource extraction on local communities and the environment, making the link between games consoles, civil war, rape and rainforest destruction.

Lonely Hearts Killer

By Tomoyuki Hoshino

Dreams in a Time of War

By Ngugi Wa Thiong’o

  • June 2, 2010
  • 0
Thumb for 432-30-mm-vegetarian.jpg

The Vegetarian Myth

Lierre Keith has written a passionately argued, highly personal, and deeply informative book about the destructive and unsustainable nature of modern day agriculture – but disguised it as an argument against vegetarianism.

  • June 1, 2010
  • 0

The New Economics - a bigger picture

Anyone who offers a diagnosis of the current economic malaise and prescribes a cure, but has not read this book, doesn’t know what they’re talking about.

The Wayfinders

Why Ancient Wisdom Matters in the Modern World. By Wade Davis.

The Ticking is the Bomb

Part memoir, part social commentary, part philosophical inquiry, US writer Nick Flynn’s book builds on his earlier autobiography, Another Bullshit Night in Suck City.

Going Rouge - Sarah Palin - An American Nightmare

This book provides some amusing and insightful analysis of the way in which knee-jerk fundamentalism mixes with the celebrity sell to provide a personal narrative on which the hopes of the Republican Right have come to reside.

The Unit

Ninni Holmqvist’s début novel is a dystopia in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Marge Piercy.

No Way To Run An Economy

How not to run an economy

Beyond Reach?

A fictionalized account of the 2005 Make Poverty History campaign.

Didn't find it?

Get our free fortnightly eNews

Multimedia

Videos from visionOntv's globalviews channel.