New Internationalist books and publications


'A vital collection drawing on a rich treasury of material.' - The Guardian.

'The No. 1 African Short Story Competition' - The Independent.

'The near-infallible early-warning system for new African Talent' - Boyd Tonkin, The Independent.

'Dazzling and splendidly diverse.' - The Times.

'Small Nuggets of African gold. A revelation.' - The Independent .

'Spotlights younger writers and emerging literary trends on the continent.' - Washington Post.

'African Violet and Other Stories is such a wonderful find […] It gives readers worldwide a taste of the diversity and talent coming out of Africa today […] Consider any of the other stories in this fine collection. And then, consider what you’ve been missing.' - Publishing Perspectives.

Read more reviews

'Out of Africa — and coming to a bookshop near you.' - The Times.

In 2014, every shortlisted author will be awarded a £500 prize and published in the annual Caine Prize anthology alongside twelve stories written at the annual workshop held in Africa.

A record 140 qualifying stories have been submitted to the judges from 17 African countries this year, and the judges will meet in late April to decide on the shortlisted stories. The shortlist will be announced in May and this year’s workshop for shortlisted writers will be held in Zimbabwe.

The fifteenth winner of the £10,000 Caine Prize will receive their award at a dinner in the Bodleian Library in Oxford on 14 July 2014. They will also be given the opportunity to take up a month’s residence at Georgetown University, as a Writer-in-Residence at the Lannan Center for Poetics and Social Practice, and to take part in the Open Book Festival in Cape Town in September.

This is a co-publishing arrangement between the Caine Prize and New Internationalist, Bookworld in Zambia, Cassava Republic in Nigeria, FEMRITE in Uganda, Jacana Media in South Africa, amaBooks in Zimbabwe, Kwani? in Kenya and Sub-Saharan Publishers in Ghana.

Judging Panel and Shortlist

The judging panel will be chaired by award-winning author Jackie Kay MBE. She will be joined by the distinguished novelist and playwright Gillian Slovo, Zimbabwean journalist Percy Zvomuya, Assistant Professor of English at the University of Georgetown Dr Nicole Rizzuto and the winner of the Caine Prize in 2001 Helon Habila. This is the second time that a past winner of the £10,000 Caine Prize will take part in the judging.

The Caine Prize

The Caine Prize, awarded annually for African creative writing, is named after the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee.

The Prize is awarded for a short story by an African writer published in English (indicative length 3,000 to 10,000 words). An “African writer” is normally taken to mean someone who was born in Africa, or who is a national of an African country, or whose parents are African.

Format: Paperback
Dimensions: 194 mm x 130 mm
Page extent: 256
ISBN-13: 978-1-78026-174-4

Date added: January 1, 2014

Comments on Caine Prize for African Writing 2014

Leave your comment